Bhutan, the Land of Thunder Dragon is sandwiched between China in the North and India in the South.  The country remained isolated for so many years despite the development in the neighboring countries. Long before Bhutan was known by several names like Lhomon ( Southern Darkness ) or Monyul ( Dark Land of Monpa). The name Lhomon Tsendhenjong which means Mon country of sandalwoods. Further, Bhutan was also know by the name Boo-Tan meaning the HighLanders by the Bristish people.

Until the rise of a single man to the power of King, Bhutan was disturbed with so many feuds and turmoils. It was in the year 1907, that the country was unanimously united and Sir Gongsa Ugyen Wangchuk became the first ever King of Bhutan. Thus, the peace began to change the landscape of Bhutan.
From thereon, Bhutan was ruled by successive Kings. The current King is the 5th King in line. The present King, King Jigme Singye Wangchuk and HH Azhi Jetsun Pema Wangchuk has given birth to a young crown Prince who will rule in succession to his father.

Until 2008, Bhutan was ruled by Kings and the system of governance was Monarchy. In the year 2008, the King announced the birth of Democracy in Bhutan. Thus, Bhutan was ruled by the political parties viz  Druk Phuensum Tshogpa ( DPT) ruling the country in the very first 5 years term. However,  the second election in 2013 gave the change in the ruling party, where People’s Democratic Party ( PDP ) ruled the country. The current Prime Minister of Bhutan is Lyonchen Tshering Tobgay.

Talking about the history, Bhutan had so many historic events like the arrival of Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel from Tibet in the year 1616. Guru Rimpochoe ( The Great Treasurer ) visited Bhutan in 746 AD, thus punishing all the evils in the Country. Bhutan thereby became a Buddhist Country practicing religions while there are other form  of practices like Kagyupa, Nyingmapa and Hinduism.

Go to top